Natural Beauty with Lavender

It is Lavender Harvest time again! Happy July

Janice Cox

IMG_7828

I love July for a variety of reasons: Summer is here, The fourth of July and my lavender is blooming and ready for harvest!  I like to think of myself as a “Lavender Farmer”  I don’t have a huge farm but the plants in my garden provide myself and my friends with a years supply of lavender.  I use my lavender in creating bath and body products, sachets for my home and in cooking.  Lavender is perfect for scones and added to coffee and lemonade.

How I “harvest” my lavender flowers is simple –I know a lot of people tie them up into cute bunches and hang them from racks and I love this idea but I don’t always have that kind of time.  Here is what I do:

I lay a cotton tablecloth on the grass next to my plants and cut off all of the flowers after they…

View original post 448 more words

Leave a Reply

